Trivia about the Xavier University – Ateneo de Cagayan

Diamond Jubilee of Xavier University - Ateneo de Cagayan

Located in Northern Mindanao, Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan, one of the leading academic institutions in Mindanao, celebrates the spirit of learning, scholarship and community service as it commemorates its 75th anniversary (diamond jubilee).

Beginning – Ateneo de Cagayan, as it was originally named, was founded in 1933 as a diocesan high school for boys by a Jesuit missionary, James T. G. Hayes, SJ , to address the vital need for education in the community. In 1938, a college department with course offerings in Liberal Arts, Education, and Commerce was started; and in 1940, the grade school was opened. After its enterprising expansion was disrupted by the war years, Ateneo de Cagayan rose from the rubble and became a thriving academic community once again.

Xavier University - Ateneo de Cagayan

University Status – In 1958, the Ateneo de Cagayan received university status through the initiative of Francisco Araneta SJ, the school’s Rector, who added the name XAVIER UNIVERSITY in honor of St. Francis Xavier, whose intercession he sought in the acquiring of a University status. This elevation of status was a hallmark in itself as it made Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan the first Jesuit Ateneo University and the first private and the first Catholic University in Mindanao, producing graduates formed and trained in Jesuit liberal education, whose ideal attributes of competence, conscience, and commitment, ignite in them the desire to use their talents and professional expertise in serving other people.

Present – Rooted firmly on its guiding moral of being men and women for others and on its motto “veritas liberabit vos,” Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan continues to respond creatively to the social realities in Mindanao and in the country, by fine-tuning academic programs and bolstering community outreach programs that address issues such as education; poverty; environment preservation and sustainable development; and social justice.

Today – Xavier University has a grade school with over 2, 500, and a high school with over 1,600 students. There are six undergraduate schools and colleges with a total enrolment of over 9,000 (Arts and Sciences, Education, Commerce, Agriculture, Engineering, and Nursing); three professional schools (Law, Medicine and Graduate School) of over 500 students; and a Center for Industrial Technology for vocational/technical courses of over 500. Other Centers, Affiliates, and Institutes have been recently established to buoy up the overall atmosphere of purposeful scholarship and effective service.

Stamps featuring the Diamond Jubilee of Xavier University – Ateneo de Cagayan

You may also like...

Leave a Reply