Trivia about the La Union Botanical Garden

Nestled on the hills in the city of San Fernando is the newly established La Union Botanical Garden. It is about eight kilometers east of the Plaza and about six hour-ride from Manila. It occupies about ten hectares of land owned by the provincial government of La Union.

The Garden was originally conceived by Ms. Mary Jane c. Ortega, now the city Mayor of San Fernando and wife of the then Congressman Victor F. Ortega, Representative of the First District of La Union. Congressman Ortega took the primary responsibility and interest In allocating a portion of his Countrywide Development Fund towards its establishment. Earlier, he made representations with the Provincial Government led by Governor Justo O. Orros, Jr. to set aside ten hectares for the project. the Provincial Board headed by the then Vice-Governor Amparo M. Aspiras passed the resolution which took effect on March 1995.

Full interest and support were also provided to the Garden by the Municipal Government headed by the then Mayor Manuel C. Ortega and the Barangay Council through Brgy. Capt. Antonio Jucar.

The sprawling Garden, the first of its kind in the Philippines and which was inaugurated on March 2, 1996, is a museum of living plants. It is meant to give an accurate impression of the various plant worlds which develop under the influence of tropical, Sub-tropical and desert climates. It is a country-style garden, where plant life and wildelife, ornaments and oddments go hand in hand. The resulting natural harmony, together with the solitude and peace naturally give the Garden a great therapeutic effect.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply