Stamps featuring the International Year of the Eucharist

  Designs from five of the winners of the Stamp Design Contest. 

6p  Carlos Vincent H. Ruiz (First Place – Seminary Level)  (30,000)

   6p  Rommer A. Fajardo (First Place – Professional Level)  (30,000)

   6p  Allen A. Moran (First Place – College Level)  (30,000)

   6p  Elquiza Athena Tentativa (First Place – High School Level)  (30,000)

   6p  Jianina Marishka C. Montealto (First Place – Elementary Level)  (30,000)

   6p  Telly Farolan-Somera  (Executive Secretary – Catholic Bishops Conference of the Philippines) (30,000)


Miniature Sheets of 20:  1,500 sets

 36p Souvenir Sheets of 6 stamps + 6 labels  (5,000)

Graphic Artist:  Richard Allen Baron

Layout Artist:  Alfonso V. Divina, Jesus Alfredo D. Delos Santos

Design Coordinator:  Telly Farolan-Somera


The Year of the Eucharist is the name of the liturgical year from October 2004 to October 2005, as celebrated by Catholics worldwide. On June 10, 2004, Pope John Paul II announced the dedication of an entire year to the Blessed Sacrament and invited the entire Church to reflect upon the Eucharist.

The Philippines is known as the largest Catholic nation in Asia. Eighty-four percent of the population are devout Catholics with beliefs and practices anchored in the official teachings of the Catholic church and Catholic faith. Likewise, the devotion to the Blessed Virgin Mary is an inseparable practice among Filipinos. 

In October 2004, at the 48th International Congress held in Guadalajara, Mexico, His Holiness, Pope John Paul II opened the International Eucharistic Year 2004-2005 for the whole world to celebrate. In the Philippines, the Catholic Bishops' Conference (CBCP) declared a national yearlong celebration of the International Eucharistic Year with the theme "Celebrating the Eucharist with Mary".  Read more


You may also like...

Leave a Reply