Trivia about the University of Santo Tomas (UST)

University of Santo Tomas (UST)
University of Santo Tomas (UST)

According to UST’s official website, which says:

The University of Santo Tomas gratefully looks back to July 24,1605, when Bishop Miguel de Benavides, O.P., the third Archbishop of Manila bequeathed a modest amount from his personal funds and his personal library collection for use in the establishment of a ‘seminary-college’ to prepare young men for the priesthood.

Thus, on April 28, 1611, the Colegio de Nuestra Senora del Santisimo Rosario, later named Colegio de Santo Tomas, was born in its original campus within the walled city called Intramuros.

On November 20, 1645, the College was elevated to the rank of a University by Pope Innocent X. King Charles of Spain granted the title “Royal University” to UST in 1785, for the exceptional loyalty shown by its administration and students who volunteered to defend Manila against the British invasion.

On September 17, 1902, Pope Leo XIII made the University of Santo Tomas a “Pontifical University” and in 1947, Pope Pius XII bestowed upon it the title “The Catholic University of the Philippines.”

The continuing increase in enrolment prompted the administration in 1927 to relocate the University in its present site in the Sampaloc district, along Espana St, Manila, which covers 21.5 hectares.

Inspired by its rich history, spurred on to impart wisdom and knowledge, enthused by noteworthy accomplishments, the University has remained steadfastly responsive to the needs and issues of the time as they occur, whether in the Philippines or elsewhere in the world.

Today, the University campus is considered a historic site and is a recognizable landmark in Manila and the country.

Stamps featuring the University of Santo Tomas (UST)

You may also like...

Leave a Reply