Stamps featuring the Battle of Mabitac

The Philippine Postal Corporation will issue a stamp to commemorate the Centennial of the Battle of Mabitac.

Kind of Issue: Commemorative
Denomination & Quantity: P5.00 – – – – – 50,000
Date of Issue: June 12, 2000
Last Day of Sale: December 12, 2000
Size of Stamps: 40mm x30mm
Perforation: 14
Printing Process: Litho-Offset (4 colors)
Paper: Imported Unwatermarked
Printer: Amstar Company, Inc.
Designer: Rufe A. Goco
Design Concept: Antonio D.A. Claro
Design Coordinator: Carminda R. Arevalo
Graphic Artist: Edgar P. Patricio
Designs: Actual size of the Battle of Mabitac and a group of Victorious Revolutionaries

In response to a war challenge earlier called by a Filipino revolutionary general, Juan Cailles, Colonel Cheatham of the U.S. forces based in Sta. Cruz, Laguna ordered a company each of the 37th and 15th Infantry Regiments to attack the revolutioanry camp at Mabitac, Laguna. Commanded by Captain David Mitchell of the 15th Infantry, the group was ordered to attack from two sides: east of the river and west over the water. Read more.

Stamp and Official First Day Covers will be available starting 12 June 2000 at the Philatelic Division, Door 203, Liwasang Bonifacio, 1000 Manila and all Regional Offices of the Philippine Postal Corporation.


You may also like...

Leave a Reply