Stamps featuring St. Luke’s Medical Center

The Philippine Postal Corporation will issue a stamp to commemorate the One Hundredth Year of the Founding of St. Luke’s Medical Center.

Kind of Issue: Commemorative
Denomination and Quantity: P5.00 – – – – 150,000
Date of Issue: January 23, 2003
Last Day of Sale: April 23, 2003
Sheet Composition: 20 (4 x 5)
Size of Stamps: 40mm x 30mm
Perforation: 14
Printing Process: Litho-Offset ( 4 colors)
Paper: Imported Unwatermarked
Printer: Amstar Company, Inc.
Design Coordinator: Rizabelle Cloma Santos
Layout Artist: Alfonso V. Divina
Graphic Artist: Edgar P. Patricio
Design: Facade of St. Luke’s Medical Center & Anniversary Logo

Founded in 1903 by American Episcopal missionary Charles Brent, St. Luke’s Hospital started as a nine-bed ward and dispensary named Mosher Hall. In 1907, it became the University Hospital. Over the next three decades, bed capacity at St. Luke’s Hospital increased to 140 beds. During the Japanese Occupation, the hospital’s name was changed to Nippon Byoin. Read more.

Stamps and Official First Day Covers will be available starting January 23, 2003 at the Philatelic Division, Door 203, Liwasang Bonifacio, 1000 Manila and all Regional Offices of the Philippine Postal Corporation.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply