Trivia about the Silliman University

Silliman University was founded as Silliman lnstitute, an elementary schoo! on August 28, 1901,by the Board of Foreign Missions of the Presblrterian Church in the U.S.A. under the terms of a gift from Dr. Horace Brinsmade Silliman, a philanthropist of Cohoes, New York. lts first president was Dr. David S. Hibbard.

ln 1910 Silliman Institute was awarded government recognition and the right to grant a degree. ln the same year it was incorporated under the laws of the Philippines. ln’,l921 the Silliman Bible School (later to become the College of theology) was established in cooperation with the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions, representing the Congregational Churches of the United States.

The History of Silliman is a story of steady growth consistent with high siandai’ds. ln iis early years it was a single college with various departments, some of which developed into colleges. ln 1935 the articles of incorporation of Silliman University were approved by the Board of Trustees and filed with the Philippine government. ln 1936 the Philippine National Assembly passed a law establishing requirements from institutions to qualify for university status. Silliman won full recognition as a university- in 1938. Celebrating its First Centennial in August 200″1 , Silliman University through the years has grown to be one of the leading institutions of quality Christian higher education in the Philippines and Asia. lt offers 46 degree programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels. ln the last five years college enrollment averaged 6,810. The teaching force is 398-strong (305 full time, 93 part-time). The main campus (“Silliman Beside the Sea”) occupies 33 hectares in the hearl of Dumaguete City.

Silliman rapidly Filipinized in the early fifties. Leopoldo Ruiz became the first Filipino president in April 1953. ln the same decade, the United Board for Christian Higher Education in Asia, an interdenominational group. assumed responsibility for channeling all church aid to Silliman. The Board gave grants for land, building, and equipment.

Some prominent graduates were: Former President Carlos P. Garcia, Sen. Lorenzo Teves, Speaker Cornelio Villareal, BIR Commissioner Tomas Toledo and Benjamin Tabios, Former DENR Secretary Angel C. Alcala, National Treasurer Leonor Briones, Cong. James L. Chiongbian, Cong. Edelmiro Amante, etc.

Stamps and Official First Day Covers will be available starting 01 June 200.1 at the Philatelic Division, Door 203, Liwasang Bonifacio, 1000 Manila and all Regional Offices of the Philippine Postal Corporation.

Stamps featuring the Silliman University

You may also like...

Leave a Reply