Trivia about Lighthouses in the Philippines I

CAPE BOJEADOR, Burgos, llocos Norte – Is an exemplary nineteenth century architectural lighthouse model with its tower, lamp, keeper’s quarters and ancillary structure. It is one of the enduring major Spanish colonial lighthouses that still serves today as a signal station and beacon to sea vessels in the country. The lighthouse, which still stands as a unique historic-cultural heritage of llocos Norte and the Philippines, was declared a National Historical Landmarks on August 13, 2004.

MALABRIGO’S LIGHTHOUSE, Lobo, Batangas – The lighthouse, in general, and relative to others, is in fairly good shape. The tower is intact and the pavilion and service buildings are still standing. Majority of work that needed to be done are “make-up” in kind like replacing the roof, flooring, painting the sails, etc. The design of the lighthouse follows the traditional layout of the tower, pavilion, service buildings and enclosed court and, with the tower rising 12 meters high between the pavilion and service building. It is one of the 24 Spanish lighthouses in the country.

BAGACAY LIGHTHOUSE, Liloan, Cebu – The Bagacay Point Lighthouse, which still stands today on top of the hill in Barangay Catarman, Liloan, Cebu, was built in 1904 by the Americans. It is one of the few remaining non-solar lighthouses in the country. This white octagonal lighthouse, powered by electricity, continues to guide the ferries, boats and barges plying the waters at the northeast entrance of the Cebu Harbor. It was declared a National Historical Landmark on August 13, 2004.

CAPE SANTIAGO LIGHTHOUSE, Calatagan, Batangas – Located about 66 yards north or the south extreme of the cape on the western head of Balayan Bay, southern shore of the province of Batangas, and lights the Verde Passage between the island of Luzon and Mindoro’s western entrance. It is one of the principal lights of approach to Manila Bay from San Bernardino or the southern route across the islands. Its main function was primarily to guide ships from Manila heading to the southern islands of the Visayas as well as navigators heading towards Manila from the San Bernardino passage.

CAPE BOLINAO LIGHTHOUSE, Bolinao, Pangasinan – Located on the Cape at Bolinao, marking the western entrance to Lingayen Gulf. Established in 1905 and is active; focal plane 90 m; white flash every 5 seconds. 27 m cylindrical concrete tower on an octagonal base, originally with lantern and gallery.

CAPONES LIGHTHOUSE, San Antonio, Zambales – Lights the approach to Subic and Manila Bays from the northwest. It is the major lighthouse fitted with a first order lens that navigators would see upon leaving Manila Bay or vise versa, before entering Manila or Subic Bays. Also, this lighthouse serves the main artery for ships heading towards China, which therefore makes it a very busy and important shipping route.

TUBBATAHA LIGHTHOUSE, Cagauancillo, Palawan – The station was established in 1938 although it is not clear whether the 1980 lighthouse is a reconstruction, replacement, or addition to the 1938 lighthouse. The lighthouse is active with two white (lashes every 10 seconds approximate 15 m (50 ft) octagonal concrete tower with gallery rising from the center of octagonal concrete keeper’s house.

SAN FERNANDO POINT LIGHTHOUSE, San Fernando, La Union – Located on the southern portion of the Port of San Fernando, Luz de puerto de

San Fernando is positioned three meters from the sea and serves primarily domestic shipping. As such, the Spanish authorities under the auspices of the Ministho de Obras Publicas (Ministry of Public Works) established it, as a local light serving the needs of local shipping such as mail boats and fishing boats.

Stamps featuring the lighthouses in the Philippines I

You may also like...

Leave a Reply