Stamps featuring Presidents Manuel A. Roxas and Elpidio Quirino

The Philippine Postal Corporation will issue a new series of definitive stamps featuring the Presidents of the Philippines from 1946 to the present. This will replace the Heroes of the Revolution Definitive Series which were used from 1998 to 1999. First of the series is the setenant pair featuring Presidents Manuel A. Roxas and Elpidio Quirino in P5.00 denomination.

Kind of Issue: Definitive
Denomination & Quantity: P 5.00 – – – – – – 10,000,000
Date of Issue: February 6, 2000
Sheet Composition: 200 (20 x 10)
Size of Stamps: 22mm x 25mm
Perforation: 13 1/2
Printing Process: Litho-Offset (4 colors)
Paper: Imported Unwatermarked
Printer: Amstar Company, Inc.
Designers: Ruperto N. Naval
Reynaldo Pando
Design Coordinator: Alfredo I. Principe
Graphic Artist: Edgar P. Patricio

MANUEL A. ROXAS – He was born in Capiz on January 1, 1892. In 1913, he finished his law degree and passed the bar examination in the same year with highest honor. He became a municipal councilor, provincial governor, member of the lower house of the Philippine legislature and Speaker of the House for eleven years. During the Japanese occupation, he secretly helped the resistance movement. After liberation, he founded the Liberal Party. He became the President of the Philippines on July 4, 1946. After 29 years in public service, he died on April 15, 1948. Read more.

Stamps and Official First Day Covers are available at the Philatelic Division, Door 203, Central Post Office Building, Liwasang Bonifacio 1000 Manila and all Regional Offices of the Philippine Postal Corporation.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply